Welcome to Sadharan Brahmo Samaj

The Sadharan Brahmo Samaj was formed in a public meeting of Brahmos held in the Town Hall of Calcutta on 15th May 1878, 2nd Jaishta 1284 of the Bengali Calendar. Mr. Anandamohan Bose was appointed the first President Mr. Shib Chandra Deb the first Secretary and Mr. Umesh Chandra Dutta the Assistant Secretary. Among others Sri Rajnarain Bose was present representing the Adi Brahmo Samaj. A letter from the venerable Maharshi Devendranath Tagore communicating his blessings and prayer for the success of the new Samaj was read in the meeting. At the time of its foundation the Sadharan Brahmo Samaj was headed by three men universally esteemed in Brahmo society for their high moral character. They were Ananda Mohan Bose, Shibchandra Deb and Umeshchandra Datta. Of those three Ananda Mohan Bose was the youngest, scarcely more than 31 years at the time, yet he was placed at the head of affairs... Read more

Latest News & Events


Latest Publications

Bharat Pathik - Rammohun Roy Sardhodisotobarshiki Smarak Grantha

Edited by Shaktisadhan Mukhopadhyay

See More »

Related Websites

Brahmo Balika Shikshalaya

Sadharan Brahmo Samaj Library

Visit us at Facebook   Follow us @ Twitter Instagram YouTube Blogger